0
Posted June 13, 2006 by Anthony in Reviews
 
 

Droolin Devil Hot Sauce Line-up Review


Droolin' Devil Hot Sauces

Hold on HSB readers. You may want to get a snack and beverage for this hot sauce review as it is going to be a long one. And if you aren’t hungry or droolin by the end of it I would check for a pulse. Cause this line-up of sauces to get you racing.

I recently had the entire line up of Droolin Devil sent to me (much to my surprise) and I have to tell you that I was definitely droolin as I unopened the package. For the American readers you may not have heard about these [tag]hot sauces[/tag], but up here in Canada they are starting to cause a stir. And for good reason.

I had a choice to do this review as individual sauces or as a set. So I went with the latter, but still gave every sauce the attention is deserves. Also, I believe that if you follow the link www.droolindevil.com – to purchase the set you may be able to get a deal.

I have to say I love the way these sauces look. Just from the graphics alone. The drool meter on the side is a bonus.

Droolin' Devil Hot Sauces

First off we have Garlic Chili Sauce (4 Drools on the heat scale). I can go on and on about this [tag]hot sauce[/tag]. But why bother. Simply put… 10/10. My first ever perfect rating. In terms of colour, aroma, texture and taste. If you want an all purpose, everyday table sauce to replace all of your other medium heat sauces this is it. I had three people try this sauce (myself not included) and they were all blown away by the taste.

The ingredients are simple enough: Fresh Red Peppers, Vinegar, Lemon Juice, Garlic, Salt, Sodium Benzoate
Not sure what the manufacturer did but this is the equivalent of hot sauce crack.

Garlic Chili Sauce

Packaging 9.5/10
Aroma 9.5/10
Appearance 9.5//10
Taste 10/10
Heat 4/10
Overall 10/10

Next up was the Chipotle sauce (4 Drools on the heat scale). Now if you have read my previous Chipotle sauce reviews you know I am not a huge fan of chipotles. But I think I have tried enough to be able to tell a good one from a bad one. And this is on the good side. For me personally the chipotle is a little overpowering, but for chipotle fans out there this is a must try. As with the Garlic Chili Sauce you have a great looking, well textured sauce, with the kick of chipotle to make this an every day staple. The smokiness really comes out strong and doesn�t really have the kick I have experienced with other chipotle sauces.

Ingredients: Tomatoes, Smoked Jalapeno Peppers, Roasted Yellow Peppers, Green Jalapenos, Cilantro, Vinegar, Cane Sugar, Salt, Herbs and Spices

Chipotle Sauce
Packaging 9.5/10
Aroma 8/10
Appearance 8/10
Taste 8/10
Heat 4/10
Overall 8/10

3rd in the line up is the Droolin Devil Habanero sauce (7 Drools on the heat scale). There is a trend happening with this line-up. It is bulletproof. Everything that went into these sauces is top notch. I have reviewed some great habanero sauces and this one can hold its own against the best of them. Consistency, colour, taste, it is all there.

Ingredients: Habanero, Piquin, Cayenne Ring of Fire, Peri Peri, Tepin, Jalapeno Peppers, Garlic, Ginger, Salt, Lemon, Lime and Orange Juice, Vinegar
Yes, Vinegar is last on the list!

Habanero Sauce
Packaging 9.5/10
Aroma 8/10
Appearance 8.5/10
Taste 9/10
Heat 8/10 (even though it says 7 drools on the package)
Overall 9/10

The fourth and final is El Diablo (12 Drools on the Heat scale). And I am glad I tried it last. Well I am not sure glad is the right word. El Diablo is a super hot. The initial touch on the tongue brought a quick savory smoky taste followed up a second later by a wall of heat. For those of you that like Dave’s Insanity and Blair’s After Death I highly recommend you give this a try. You may have a new favourite. There is no extract in here but the heat level may make you think otherwise. Be careful though as it is a little on the runny side.

Ingredients: Habanero, Piquin, Cayenne Ring of Fire, Peri Peri, Tepin, Jalapeno Peppers, Garlic, Ginger, Spices, Salt, Lemon, Lime and Orange Juice, Vinegar

There you have it. A super hot with no extract and low on the vinegar.

El Diablo
Packaging 9.5/10
Aroma 8/10
Appearance 8.5/10
Taste 8/10
Heat 10/10 (even though it says 12 on the package – it is still a super hot 10+)
Overall 9/10

Droolin' Devil Hot Sauces

Conclusion
Hands down this line-up is amazing. Whether you buy each individually (available in 2oz and 5oz bottles) or together in a gift set. You can’t go wrong. As I am finishing this review up the garlic chili sauce is just now a pleasant memory in the minds of myself and friends. The chipotle sauce is clinging to the bottle in its last attempt to stay sealed. The habanero sauce made best friends with plenty of hamburgers and the El Diablo sits half content waiting for its next victim. Great Stuff!!!

Droolin Devil Gift Set Overall
Packaging 9.5/10
Aroma 9/10
Appearance 8//10
Taste 9/10
Heat Varies
Overall 9.5/10

Droolin’ Devil Fine Foods
Office: 403.207.6791
Fax: 403.398.3266
Email: info@droolindevil.com


Anthony